Go down


Post  DM Ramen on Thu Dec 04, 2008 3:33 am

Generally speaking, jutsu are divided into three categories: genjutsu, ninjutsu, and taijutsu. Ninjutsu also has two sub-categories: sealing jutsu and cursed seal jutsu, which are jutsu used to create seals for various purposes. Senjutsu, a concept introduced in the second half of the series, uses three types of energy: the psychic and physical energy of the shinobi and the energy of nature, which greatly increases the power of other jutsu types. There are also kekkei genkai abilities. These are not actually jutsu, but genetically inherited abilities that are only possessed by specific clans.
Depending on the difficulty or skill necessary to perform a jutsu, they will be ranked differently.

There are a total of six ranks (from E to S), plus two informal ranks for special circumstances. The rank of a jutsu does not necessarily mean it will be more effective than a lower-ranked jutsu, just more difficult to perform properly. The overall effectiveness of any given jutsu is largely based on individual skill. The two informal ranks are "secret" (秘伝 hiden?) and "forbidden technique" (禁術 kinjutsu?). Secret jutsu are passed down from generation to generation within a clan. These jutsu are not ranked since no one outside the clan knows how to perform them. Forbidden jutsu, on the other hand, often do fall into one of the six main ranks, but are an exception because they are forbidden to learn or perform. A technique can be categorized as forbidden if it either causes great harm to the user, such as opening the Eight Gates, or if the techniques are dark or sinister in nature, such as those used by Orochimaru.

Cursed Seal jutsu
Cursed Seal jutsu (呪印術 juin jutsu?, lit. "cursed seal techniques" or "Technique of the Accursed Mark") are jutsu that use a special "cursed seal" to put someone under the control of the user or elicit an unnatural effect in the one they are placed on. They can be used to cause either pain (including death if the pain is large enough) or invoking various mutations in the recipient.

Genjutsu (幻術? "Illusion Techniques") are techniques that use the chakra in the victim's nervous system to create illusions; basically an advanced intellectual ninjutsu. Those with special abilities like the Uchiha clan's Sharingan or those with high intelligence have an easier time executing and countering genjutsu, as attention to detail is key. The most commonly seen genjutsu is the simple creation of phantasms – causing the targeted person(s) to hear, see, smell, taste and/or feel sensations that are not actually there in order to manipulate them. In other words, genjutsu affects the five senses, though other applications of genjutsu exist. Those under the influence of genjutsu either freeze in place or lose consciousness, depending on how capable they are in recognizing and defending against it.

There are several ways to counter genjutsu. Because it uses the victim's own chakra against them, the target can cancel the genjutsu by disrupting their own chakra flow. This is called Genjutsu Cancel (幻術解 Genjutsu Kai?). Alternatively, should they fail to cancel the genjutsu, intense pain (though not that caused by the genjutsu) can snap them out of it. Someone else can disrupt their chakra flow for them through forcing their own chakra into the recipients body, breaking the chakra flow and thus the genjutsu. Because genjutsu is based on manipulating the senses, if the victim loses consciousness the genjutsu will end. Finally, if the victim's ally attacks the caster of the genjutsu, the jutsu will end and the victim freed.

Kekkei genkai
Kekkei Genkai (血継限界? "Bloodline Limit") are abilities passed down genetically in specific clans. Most clans have developed special jutsu related to their kekkei genkai and their related jutsu cannot be taught or copied by others, as they require the specific genetic trait to work. Kekkei genkai abilities that work via the user's eye are called "eye techniques" (瞳術 dōjutsu?), such as the Byakugan, the Sharingan and the Rin'negan. Other kekkei genkai, like the First Hokage and Yamato's Mokuton ability, and Haku's Ice Jutsu, revolve around a simultaneous combination of two separate chakra elements.

Ninjutsu (忍術? "Ninja Techniques") is a vague term referring to almost any technique that uses chakra and allows the user to do something that they otherwise would be incapable of doing. The earliest forms of ninjutsu are said to have been created by the first owner of the Rinnegan. Unlike genjutsu, which makes the opponent see illusions, the effects of ninjutsu are quite real. They vary greatly in purpose, with the simpler ninjutsu serving such tasks as transforming the user or allowing them to evade attacks. These techniques are often second-nature for experienced ninja, who can use them at will. More complex ninjutsu manipulate one's surroundings or utilize the elements. These elemental ninjutsu can be classified as such: earth (土遁 Doton?), fire (火遁 Katon?), lightning (雷遁 Raiton?), water (水遁 Suiton?), wind (風遁 Fūton?). The phrase "Ninja Art" (Ninpō) is occasionally added to the beginning of a non-elemental jutsu, while the elemental name may be added before an elemental technique, such as Fire Style, Water Style, Earth Style, etc.

Sealing jutsu
Sealing jutsu (封印術 Fūin jutsu?) are jutsu that seal something inside objects or living beings. The most common application of this is sealing weapons or other objects within scrolls to efficiently carry a large number of items. Sealing jutsu are also utilized to restrict access to things, such as chakra or entry to a building. The most famous example of this type of ninjutsu is the seal that contains the Nine-Tailed Fox within Naruto.

Senjutsu (仙術? "Sage Techniques") refers to the use of chakra created from psychic and physical energy within the shinobi as well as energy from nature. This results in the drastic increase of physical attacks, ninjutsu, and genjutsu. Senjutsu also has the curious side-effect of strengthening the user rather than tiring them out as time passes. Natural energy is invoked by enormous amounts of chakra and only those who can generate that quantity of chakra can achieve Senjutsu. Senjutsu seems to be unique to the toads, as only they and their human students (such as Jiraiya and Naruto) can use it.

Taijutsu (体術? "Body Techniques" or "hand-to-hand combat") refers to any techniques involving the martial arts or the optimization of natural human abilities in general. In other words, taijutsu is executed by accessing the user's stamina directly, rather than converting the user's stamina to chakra in order to execute a ninjutsu or genjutsu technique, meaning that taijutsu is much quicker to execute than (though not always as powerful as) ninjutsu and genjutsu. In some cases, chakra is used to enhance the techniques, particularly in the Hyuga clan's Gentle Fist style where the user sends small bursts of chakra into the persons body to attack the chakra system or chakra points. Generally speaking, however, most taijutsu users rarely use chakra in their attacks.
DM Ramen

Male Number of posts : 354
Registration date : 2008-12-04

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Back to top

- Similar topics

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum